Frontiers of Science

BioCity Turku arranges every semester Frontiers of Science (FoS) seminars, which brings BioCity Turku researchers together to listen to prominent international scientists.

All seminars are on Thursdays at 12:00 in BioCity Presidentti Auditorium. On-site only, no recording nor broadcasting. Coffee and sandwich served at 11:45, first come first served!

Take a look at the spring 2024 FoS program

For speakers and hosts

Frontiers of Science seminars are organised by the BioCity Turku research programs and the coordinator of BioCity Turku. Frontiers of Science hosts and speakers can find more detailed information about the invitation procedure and the seminars from here:

Introduction to the FoS processes and instructions for the hosts
Instructions for the FoS speakers

FoS committee members

FoS committee has members from each BioCity Turku research program. InFLAMES Flagship is also included to increase the synergy, and doctoral researchers have their representatives as well. The chair of the organizing committee is Laura Elo. If you would like to invite a FoS speaker please contact the FoS committee member from your research program.

BioMed: Chunlin Xu (chunlin.xu@abo.fi)
CellCom: Guillaume Jaquemet (guillaume.jaquemet@abo.fi)
CompLifeSci: Outi Salo-Ahen (outi.salo-ahen@abo.fi)
Field of View:  Pasi Kankaanpää (pkanka@utu.fi) and Jiri Funda (jiri.funda@utu.fi)
MIRP: Arto Pulliainen (arto.pulliainen@utu.fi)
MIST: Pia Rantakari (piaranta@utu.fi) and Tapio Lönnberg (taplon@utu.fi)
SmartBIO: Yagut Allahverdiyeva-Rinne (allahve@utu.fi) and Henrik Grénman (henrik.grenman@abo.fi)
TREMENDO: Aleksi Tornio (aleksi.tornio@utu.fi)
InFLAMES: Kaisa Hakkila (kaihak@utu.fi)
PhD Researchers: Rahul Biradar (rahul.biradar@utu.fi) and Jenny Pessa (jenny.pessa@abo.fi)

For students

Students can get ECTs from participating to the Frontiers of  Science seminars. Print out the seminar diary and ask the coordinator to sign it after each lecture. Once you have collected enough signatures, please contact biocityturku@bioscience.fi to get the certificate.

Frontiers of Science seminar diary, autumn 2023


Early-career researcher, have a lunch with the speaker!

The Frontiers of Science Seminar lunch dates are a great opportunity for doctoral researchers and early-career postdocs to practice their hosting and discussion skills, start networking of their own, and get new ideas and motivation by discussing with the leading scientists. Take a look at the instructions and come along.

Food for mind and body – Meet the FoS speaker over a lunch