Frontiers of Science: The evolution of SUMO proteomics


September 13, 2018    
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm


Map Unavailable

In Arje Scheinin Auditorium

Dr. Ivo Hendriks, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Host: Leila Rato (


Dr. Hendriks acquired his PhD in 2014 at the Leiden University Medical Center and he is now doing his post-doc with Prof. Michael L. Nielsen at the Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research at the University of Copenhagen. Dr. Hendriks research focuses on using proteomics to study SUMOylation in a system-wide fashion. For this purpose he has developed new methods for characterizing SUMOylation in a site-specific manner. His research has resulted in the identification of new SUMOylation sites as well as co-modifications with phosphorylation. Further, he has also developed label-free techniques to study SUMO and recently he has established a fully endogenous SUMO2/3 proteomics methodology that was successfully applied in vivo across 8 mouse organs.

Selected publications:

Hendriks IA, Lyon D, Su D, Skotte NH, Daniel JA, Jensen LJ, Nielsen ML. Site-specific characterization of endogenous SUMOylation across species and organs. Nat Commun. 2018

Hendriks IA, Lyon D, Young C, Jensen LJ, Vertegaal AC, Nielsen ML. Site-specific mapping of the human SUMO proteome reveals co-modification with phosphorylation. Nat Struct Mol Biol. 2017

Hendriks IA, Vertegaal AC. Label-Free Identification and Quantification of SUMO Target Proteins. Methods Mol Biol. 2016

Hendriks IA, Vertegaal AC. A high-yield double-purification proteomics strategy for the identification of SUMO sites. Nat Protoc. 2016

Hendriks IA, Vertegaal AC. A comprehensive compilation of SUMO proteomics. Nat Rev Mol Cell Biol. 2016

Hendriks IA, D’Souza RC, Chang JG, Mann M, Vertegaal AC. System-wide identification of wild-type SUMO-2 conjugation sites. Nat Commun. 2015

Hendriks IA, D’Souza RC, Yang B, Verlaan-de Vries M, Mann M, Vertegaal AC. Uncovering global SUMOylation signaling networks in a site-specific manner. Nat Struct Mol Biol. 2014